top of page

Review: "The Selection" by Kiera Cass

Hi Guys! I've decided to start catching up on posts I've put off, what with all the remodeling I've done to the site recently. Anyway, today I'm reviewing The Selection by Kiera Cass. (There will be spoilers.) Let's get started!

So, I'm going to start with a summery.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself—and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

So, before I read this book, I'd heard many mixed reviews for this book. I knew people who loved it, and then people who hated it. There was no in between. I decided to read it last year because my friends wouldn't stop talking about it, and I LOVED it. The story, the characters, fantastic! There were a few points that my friends and I unanimously decided were not as great, but were great conversation starters in our group.

The first one was Maxon's hair color. Kiera Cass hadn't stated the color up when you first meet him, so I had seen him as a very dark brunette. I found later he was, in fact, a blond. No matter how hard I tried after that, I always saw him as a brunette, as I had already gotten MY image of him.

The second was Aspen. I'm sorry if you like him, but for me, until the very end of the last book, he drove me CRAZY!! Always showing up when America finally started to like Maxon, and Aspen drove her back to him! Ugh! Despite all this, he ended up being a decent fellow in my mind, mainly because America ended up with who she was supposed to.

Those were the main bugs for me, but it was a great story over all. I highly recommend it. Bye!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page